My Favourite Christmas Songs

christmassongs

Christmas isn’t Christmas without the cheesy Christmas songs, the gentle carols or Michael Buble blasting out around the kitchen as you tuck into your Christmas dinner. I love Christmas songs and start playing them earlier than I probably should…!

I thought I’d talk to you about my top five Christmas songs and I have some lovely bloggers who have answered a few questions about festive songs as well, so, let’s get started!

5. Rockin’ Around The Christmas Tree – Mel & Kim (1987)

This is one of my all time favourite Christmas songs – as soon as I hear the opening bars, I just want to get up and start dancing around! The music video for this song is completely wacky but I have the hugest need for Kim’s dress! I think it’s totally awesome and I’d wear it everyday if I owned it :P. Plus, who doesn’t want to dance around their living room, in front of the Christmas tree, with family and friends having a happy holiday?!

4. The Power Of Love – Frankie Goes To Hollywood (1984) 

So, here’s an admission, I’m not actually sure why this is classed as a Christmas song…yet, it seems to only be played at this time of year and included in Christmas song lists. However, whether it is a Christmas song or not, I LOVE IT. It makes me want to sway and hold a lighter in the air and just do a big cry. But, not a bad cry, just a ‘I’m so grateful for everything’ cry. Have you heard of this song? Whenever I play it for friends they sit there with a blank expression on their faces claiming they’ve never heard it!! I can’t be the only person who knows this song, surely?!

3. Last Christmas – Wham (1985) 

LAAAAAAAAAST CHRISTMASSSSS I GAVE YOU MY HEAAAAART. Oh man, I could sing this song forever. I love it soooo much. It was a hard choice between this song and All I Want For Christmas Is You, but there’s just something about Wham’s song that has one up on Mariah Carey. My favourite lyrics from this song are ‘a crowded room,
friends with tired eyes’ and I don’t know why!! I think I just like the image of there being a warm room full of friends all looking festive and happy and just a little exhausted from the festivities!

2. Step Into Christmas – Elton John (1974)

I’m not the worlds biggest Elton John fan but there’s something about this song that just gets right under my skin and makes me want to have a massive boogie. It totally gets me in the festive mood and makes me want to have a huge Christmas party. I can imagine people jiving around to this song and sipping on glasses of mulled wine wearing party hats.

1. Driving Home For Christmas – Chris Rea (1984)

This is my most favourite Christmas song EVER. It genuinely gives me goosebumps. I don’t know why I love it so much but the gravelly tones of Chris Rea, the idea of travelling home to be with all of your family snuggled up by the fire and the building excitement of reaching home just makes me feel so warm and fuzzy. The first year I was at uni, I played this on my drive home as I was driving home for Christmas and it was so lovely to be driving along dark motorways, stuck in traffic jams but knowing a warm, welcoming home was waiting for me.

Also, I love this song because in the Gavin & Stacey Christmas special Bryn does a blinding impression!

***

What is YOUR favourite Christmas song? Which one has the most memories linked to it for you? Let me know in the comments 🙂 

***

I am so lucky to welcome the lovely Chloe, Sharon and Jo to the blog today to talk a little bit about their favourite Christmas songs.

1. What is your most favourite Christmas song of all time?

Chloe: Fairytale of New York – It’s an odd choice but I absolutely love it.

Sharon: It is so hard to choose one ultimate favourite, but my ultimate favourite would have to be Have yourself a Merry Little Christmas by Judy Garland and if I were to choose a more modern one I think I would have to Shakin Stevens version of Merry Christmas Everyone.  I suppose you could say I am just old fashioned when it comes to Christmas.

Jo: My favourite of all time Do The know it’s Christmas by Band Aid, the original 1984 version.  So iconic and full of music stars I grew up loving.

2. Is there a song you loathe hearing every Christmas!?  

Chloe: On The Saviours Day, c’mon Cliff leave it out.

Sharon: Unfortunately there is and I apologise to everyone who chooses this as their favourite, but I cannot stand Fairytale of New York.  I don’t know what it is, but when that appears on the radio or TV I am sorry to say but I change channels.

Jo: Anything by Cliff Richard, absolutely hate them all.

3. Which Christmas song has the nicest memories for you?

Chloe: Driving Home For Christmas. I was never bothered about this song before but then I actually had to drive home for the holidays, every time I hear it, it reminds me that I’m going back home for the holidays and I’ll see my family 🙂

Sharon: This is a tough one.  The nicest memories are always with family and friends so I suppose the I would have to choose Slade’s Merry Christmas Everybody as it just conveys to me fun with loved ones, how Christmas should be.

Jo: All the Christmas songs that are featured in Home Alone 2, love the film especially as one of the bad guys looks like my ex husband (the one that gets hit with the bricks), so speaks for it’s self haha

4. Which Christmas music video is your favourite? I have a soft spot for the baggy trousers in East 17’s Stay Another Day!

Chloe: I Wish It Could Be Christmas Everyday by Slade. It’s so much fun!

Sharon: I love so many it is hard to choose, but please forgive me for saying this, I would have to choose Jon Bon Jovi’s Please Come Home For Christmas as I would just have loved to have been the in Cindy Crawford’s place in that video, also again with Shakin Stevens Merry Christmas Everyone, I always dreamed of being that girl he kisses under the mistletoe.  They are both songs and videos that I can watch over and over again and never got tired of seeing them.

Jo: I love Last Christmas by Wham!

5. On Christmas day are you the one who’s likely to be Rocking Around The Christmas Tree or are you more of a Silent Night, type?

Chloe: Rocking Around The Christmas Tree, definitely. I celebrate christmas for the fun and the time to be with my family because I’m an Atheist.

Sharon: I am definitely a rocking Around The Christmas Tree kind of girl.  I like to have the music playing whilst I am in the kitchen and we have to have the music playing while we are eating dinner.

Jo: A mixture of both as its spent with family.

6. Are you up early on Christmas morning or do you delight in having the time to lie in?

Chloe: I’ve been known to wake up before my 14 year old sister at around 5am. Parents have a rule, no going downstairs until at least 6.

Sharon: I am up with my hat in my hand.  If it is my turn to cook (I take it in turns with my mum, one year we all go to mums and the following year they all come to me) I don’t normally sleep.  I put the turkey in the oven at about 2.30 am ish so that when the others awake or arrive, the smell greets them first.  I think the Christmas magic keeps me going until I collapse on the sofa Christmas Day evening.

Jo: I used to like a lie in, but my sister in law always has us up early, she’s even worse since my nephew came along.

7. Lastly, Christmas cake or mince pies?! 

Chloe: I’m not hugely keen on either, hand me some Vienetta instead!

Sharon: It would definitely have to be mince pies for me.  I love the look of Christmas cakes but I don’t actually like them to eat.

Jo: Neither, hate them both, Xmas is Turkey and gingerbread latte for me.

***

I love how music can divide people so much! Thank you so much to you all for getting involved! You can find Chloe on Twitter and make sure to check out her blog. Sharon also has Twitter and give her website a peak too! And Jo is on Twitter and has a fantastic blog as well! 

Leave a Reply

