Daphne Du Maurier

If you haven’t heard of Daphne Du Maurier then good news! The wonderful people at Virago are republishing some of Daphne’s titles to appeal to a wider audience. They are republishing some to appeal to an adult audience and for the first time are publishing some to suit a YA audience. I think the covers for both the adult and YA titles are very beautiful and should hopefully attract readers who wouldn’t normally choose to read Daphne Du Maurier! They have chosen to republish only three to begin with which are probably Daphne’s most popular or well known titles. They are: Rebecca, Frenchman’s Creek and Jamaica Inn.

daph

I was lucky enough to be sent a YA copy of Frenchman’s Creek and this was the first Du Maurier I’ve ever read. I’ve always wanted to read Rebecca but have just never got round to picking a copy up.

Now I have to be honest here, this isn’t a typical YA read and in theory, these aren’t really YA books. So when going into these books, it is to be noted that they aren’t the easiest books to read. But that doesn’t mean you should be put off.

Frenchman’s Creek tells the story of Lady Dona St Columb who leaves London to head to the solitude and peace of her Cornish estate but upon arrival finds that her retreat is being used as a base by a pirate. Fueled by her desire for adventure and her sudden passion for the French pirate, the pair embark on a quest full of passion, danger and glory.

I loved this book. It’s not my usual kind of book and one I probably wouldn’t have picked up unless I’d been sent a copy so I’m grateful that I’ve had the chance to read this novel. Du Maurier writes with such a feverish passion and really pulls you into the narrative with characters that you can’t help but fall in love with. I was rooting for the protagonist the whole way through and almost felt a sadness when I had to turn the final page!

I find it hard to review such classic and much loved books because there’s nothing I can say that hasn’t been said before! Classic novels are classics for a reason – because they’re completely brilliant in every way. And, as the quote of the back of the book so perfectly puts it:

‘For pure, pulsing romance, you can’t beat Frenchman’s Creek...Irresistable.’ 
– Daily Mail

Join other bloggers for their stops on the tour!

Du Maurier blog tour

2 responses to “Daphne Du Maurier

Leave a Reply

