Oops, I Did It Again

I bought books.
I’m sorry.
I just couldn’t stop myself.

I was in a gorgeous independent bookshop in Keswick called BookEnds and I just, well I just got a bit too excited and bought seven books. But, they were only £19. YES, seven books for £19. This is what I would describe as bargainous.

I bought three Young Adult titles which were all (brand new) reduced to just £3 each. Maybe because there has been a cover change? I’m not sure, but I wasn’t going to turn down the offer!

The Chaos Walking Trilogy by Patrick Ness.

The Knife Of Never Letting Go, The Ask & The Answer, Monsters Of Menness

I have wanted this series in SO SO LONG. And I love the ‘new’ covers for them (it just makes me want them more) but I was willing to settle for these covers because a) they all match b) they were cheap and c) BOOKS.

So, yes, I am excited about these A LOT.

I then bought four books in their ‘4 books for £10’ offer which is also hard to turn down.

So I chose,

theroadThe Road by Cormac McCarthy.
I’ve heard SO much about this book and even watched part of the film so I am so happy to finally own a copy after having it on my wishlist forever. The bookseller who was serving me said that after reading the Chaos Walking series, he often recommends The Road as a sort of step up into adult fiction from Ness which covers similar topics, so I’m quite glad I chose such a good selection of books that all seem to work together nicely!

wrong

The Wrong Knickers by Bryony Gordon.
This book is a little old now, I think it came out last year and I’ve wanted to read it since I first heard about it but I’ve just never got round to sourcing myself a copy so once I saw it, I had to have it! It tells the story (real life I believe) about a woman’s ‘decade of chaos’ and all the escapades she gets up to!

beautiful

If I Knew You Were Going To Be This Beautiful I Would Never Have Let You Go (phew, what a mouthful!) by Judy Chicurel.
Again, another book I have heard a lot about in the past year but one I’ve never picked up to read. I love the cover to this one and the title is beautiful too. I fear it may be a little too ‘literary’ for my tastes but I am willing to give it a go! It had high praise when it was first published so I am expecting big things!

boothThe Devil’s Edge by Stephen Booth. I’ve wanted to read a book by Booth for a while and when seeing one of his books on offer I was quick to snatch it up and add it to my pile! Set in the Peak District, this book tells of home invasions, that turn deadly. Umm, sounds petrifying but I love a good crime thriller!

In all honesty I didn’t NEED to buy any of these books but again, it was the compulsive, addicted little part of me that said ‘BUY BOOKS. BUY THEM ALL.’ I could have spent a lot more money in BookEnds and with the shop being so lovely and the staff being so friendly and knowledgeable, I was tempted to spend a lot more money but sadly, I remembered I was on a strict ban/budget so had to stop at seven books!

Have you bought any new books recently? Have you read any of the books I’ve just bought? If so, did you enjoy them?  

Leave a Reply

