My Immediate TBR Pile

Happy Sunday folks! 

Today I thought I’d pull together a post about the books that are right at the top of my TBR pile and therefore the ones I will be reading soon!

This year has been an amazing year for books so far and my TBR pile is on the brink of collapse from awesomeness. Some of the books I am going to read super soon are books I’ve bought for myself, some are books I’ve borrowed from the library and a couple are books from publishers (thank you lovely people.)

So, let’s get started!

Dream A Little Dream – Bought

I have to confess I am already over halfway through Dream A Little Dream! I was so excited to be able to buy a copy of this even though it’s not released until Thursday (18th). I am addicted to Giovanna’s writing – her novels are always such a pleasure to read and completely and utterly indulgent. I love being sucked into one of Fletcher’s worlds and making friends with all of her characters. I have to say I was a little dubious about the blurb of DALD but as I’ve read, I’ve fallen in love with the story completely and I cannot wait to finish it and post a review!
Dream A Little Dream follows the life of Sarah who has the most vivid and exciting dreams about a stranger. With her waking life a seemingly awful nightmare with a horrid boss, a pushy mother and an ex-boyfriend who won’t go away, she relishes the time spent in the dream world with her handsome stranger. However, as the plot progresses, Sarah’s dream man suddenly makes an appearance in real life leaving her questioning where the line between reality and dreams really ends…

The Pocket Wife – Borrowed

Eeeeek. I’ve been so excited about this. I love the premise and after reading the first chapter on Lovereading, I decided I needed this book in my life. Finally, after waiting for what felt like forever, the library emailed me and said the copy was waiting for me! So, I dashed down there and borrowed it! I have also been a bit naughty and read the first few chapters of this (sorrrrrry, this is less a TBR and more a ‘already started need to finish’ pile!)

The Pocket Wife has been compared to GOTT (which recent psycho thriller hasn’t?!) with similarities becoming apparent in the unreliability of the protagonist. It starts when our main character, Dana, is woken from an afternoon nap by the sound of an ambulance pulling into the house of her friend and neighbour, Celia. Celia is dead. Murdered. Yet Dana was only there a few hours ago…

Celia showed Dana a picture of her husband with another woman but Dana can’t remember much more of the afternoon… As the novel progresses, we learn more about Dana’s history and race towards the conclusion to try and piece together what exactly happened.

Asking For It – Sent by publisher

YUSSSSS, Hell to the yes. And all of the other forms of ‘yes’ appropriate for this book.

After the stonking success of Only Ever Yours, Louise is back with a killer second novel which promises to be just as good, if not better, than the previous. Asking For It explores the very relevant and frightening ideas of rape culture, consent, shaming and most importantly, the idea that just because you can’t remember something, it doesn’t mean it didn’t happen.

Emma goes to a party. The next morning she wakes up on the porch of her house with no memories of anything to do with the previous night. She hurts and she’s confused. But everyone else around her knows what happened…they’ve all seen the photos. But will anyone really believe the truth when the reputation of the town hero is at stake?

I cannot wait to read this.

Summer House With Swimming Pool – Borrowed

A book I’ve had my eye on for a long time and finally plummeted for it when I saw it in the library. I’m not sure if I’ll read this all the way through as I’m unsure if I’m going to gel with the writing style – but I’ll give it a go! I have read the first few pages and it seem to be OK so far so we’ll see…!

The plot centres around a doctor who is invited, with his family, on holiday with a very rich patient of his. Which, of course, he can’t refuse! But after the sun fades away and the holiday is over, the patient is found dead and all fingers point towards the doctor…

Some fingers are pointed for medical negligence but the patient’s wife is pointing the finger of murder.

One – NetGalley 

Again, yes, I’m sorry, I’ve read about 30% of this.

Written by the same author as Apple And Rain, we are treated to a book which I’m not sure is one I’ve ever seen before. A young adult novel about conjoined twins. Has anyone ever read anything similar to that…ever?!

When the main characters are forced to leave private education and brave the truly petrifying real world of high school and the related awfulness that comes with it, the twins learn that the real world isn’t all that great. Being conjoined is something the majority of us could never comprehend but for the twins it is all the have ever known. And soon a heart-breaking decision lies ahead…

I can’t wait to finish this one!

So…that is my immediate TBR pile! 
What’s on yours? What can you just NOT wait to read? Let me know in the comments below! 

 

Leave a Reply

